MDC home,    Comission F1   Division F,   IAU 

Working Group on Meteor Shower Nomenclature (2015-2018)


The commission has established a Working Group on Meteor Shower Nomenclature with the objective to formulate a descriptive list of established meteor showers that can receive official names during the next IAU General Assembly. This task aims to uniquely identify all existing meteor showers and establish unique names: as an example of the value of such a definitive catalogue would be to facilitate the establishment of associations between meteor showers and parent bodies among the many Near-Earth Objects that are being discovered.

Members of the group:

Diego Janches, USA (chair: diego.janches@nasa.gov)

Peter Brown, Canada (pbrown@uwo.ca)

Peter Jenniskens, USA (Petrus.M.Jenniskens@nasa.gov)

Tadeusz J. Jopek, Poland (lead MDC shower database: jopek@amu.edu.pl)

Zuzana Kanuchova, Slovakia (zkanuch@ta3.sk)

Gulchekhra I. Kokhirova, Tajikistan (Kokhirova2004@mail.ru)

Masahiro Koseki, Japan (group associate, IMO representative: geh04301@nifty.ne.jp)

Regina Rudawska, Poland, (group associate, rrudawsk@cosmos.esa.int)

Josep M. Trigo-Rodriguez, Spain (trigo@ieec.uab.es)

Jun-Ichi Watanabe, Japan (jun.watanabe@nao.ac.jp)

The Task Group on Meteor Shower Nomenclature was established at the IAU General Assembly in Prague on August 24, 2006. During the IAU General Assembly in Rio de Janeiro, Brasil, in August of 2009, the Task Group has been transformed into the Working Group on Meteor Shower Nomenclature. The current members were elected during the IAU General Assembly Honolulu, Hawaii, United States in August of 2015. The effective period of the Committee is three years, until the next General Assembly in 2018 in Vienna, Austria.


CATALOGUES
 List of all showers  List of established showers  Working list of showers  List of shower groups  List of removed showers  MDC orbital database  MDC bibliographical references
MISCELLANEA
 New meteor shower reports  Shower nomenclature rules  Nomenclature working group
OTHER SITES
 Mirror of this site  UWO - CMOR  NASA - CAMS  NASA - All Sky Fireball Network  EDMOND database  Meteorite Orbits info  IAU Minor Planet Center  NEODYS risk page  ASTDYS main page  IMO main page  SonotaCo Meteor Data Sets  Shower activity estimator
Update
stat4u